TOC from Biochemistry 2019

Discovery of ssDNA inhibitors of APOBEC enzymes published in Biochemistry (pdf). Congratulations to the APOBEC team. 

Tuesday, February 5, 2019 - 9:15am

Chris Richards

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Richards, a co-mentored graduate student with the Harris laboratory, for defending his Ph.D. in Pharmacology! Best wishes as a postdoctoral fellow in the Carette laboratory at Stanford University!

Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 8:45am

4CIN OL TOC Graphic

Our paper reporting the synthesis and characterization of 4CIN, a fluorescent nucleoside analogue containing a 4-cyanoindole nucleobase, is now available at Organic Letters.


Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 9:15am

Jordan, Hannah, Sam

Congratulations to Harki group members that recently received awards! Jordan Baur (College of Pharmacy, Dean's Research Award), Hannah Skopec (Ole Gisvold Medicinal Chemistry Award), Sam Syberg (Summer UROP Fellowship) and Tommy Millunchick (Summer UROP Fellowship; not pictured).

Saturday, June 2, 2018 - 11:00am

New Harki Group Members

The Harki lab welcomes three new members: Katherine Jones (left; Chemistry graduate student), Samantha Kennelly (middle: Medicinal Chemistry graduate student) and Sam Syberg (right; Chemical Engineering undergraduate student). Welcome to the team!

Friday, February 9, 2018 - 9:30am

Harki Lab Group Lunch - December 2017

End of the year group lunch. 

Sunday, December 24, 2017 - 2:00pm

Katherine JonesKatherine Jones joins the laboratory. Katherine is a 1st year graduate student in the Chemistry Ph.D. program. Welcome!



Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 5:45am

Ruben Eckermann goodbye lunch

Best wishes to postdoc, Ruben Eckermann, as he begins a new position at CPL Sachse in Berlin!

Tuesday, November 7, 2017 - 11:30am

Jenna Thomforde joins the group for a research rotation. Welcome Jenna!

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 9:00am

New Medicinal Chemistry graduate student Samantha Kennelly joins the group for a summer laboratory research rotation. Welcome Sam!

Friday, July 7, 2017 - 9:00am

ayoubLab technician Alex Ayoub begins graduate studies at the University of Michigan with a summer rotation in the Mapp lab. Good luck Alex!

Saturday, July 1, 2017 - 10:45am

widenNew Ph.D. graduate John Widen begins postdoctoral studies with Professor Matthew Bogyo at Stanford University. Good luck John!

Monday, March 27, 2017 - 10:30am

Alex Ayoub joins the group as a Research Technician. Welcome Alex!

Thursday, August 18, 2016 - 2:15pm

Best wishes to Stephanie Breunig as she begins graduate studies in Chemistry at Caltech this fall!

Monday, July 18, 2016 - 2:45pm

Congratulations to Stephanie Breunig for successfully defending her Senior Thesis in Chemistry "Synthesis of APOBEC3 Inhibitors Based on High-throughput Screening Hits, and a New Method for the Formation of [1,2,4]-triazolo-[3,4-b][1,3,4]-oxadiazoles."

Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 2:45pm

Congratulations to the following students for winning summer research awards: Jordan Baur (Heisig/Gleysteen Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship, UMN Chemistry), Caitlin Puro (Heisig/Gleysteen Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship, UMN Chemistry - declined; DAAD award for research in Germany Summer 2016), and Hannah Skopec (Melendy/Peters' Summer Research Scholarship, UMN Pharmacy).

Monday, April 18, 2016 - 2:45pm

Congratulations to Stephanie Breunig for receiving an Honorable Mention from the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program!

Friday, March 18, 2016 - 2:45pm

Best wishes to Dr. Maggie Olson and Dr. Nick Struntz as they begin postdoctoral studies. Maggie will pursue postdoctoral research in the Janda laboratory (Scripps) and Nick will become a member of the Koehler laboratory (MIT).

Friday, February 19, 2016 - 2:45pm

Congratulations to Dr. Nick Struntz for successfully defending his Ph.D. thesis "Synthesis of photoresponsive nucleosides and their incorporation into oligonucleotides: Targeting androgen receptor and NF-kB transcription factors"!

Thursday, February 18, 2016 - 2:30pm highlights our work with the Minnesota Breast Cancer Coalition. Click here for story.

Sunday, October 18, 2015 - 2:30pm